Voting members of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS) recently elected five leaders to the second largest professional medical specialty society for dermatology in North America. Their 2019-20 terms began at the 2019 ASDS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

President: Marc Brown, MD
Dr. Brown succeeds Murad Alam, MD, MBA, who became the Society’s Immediate Past President during this morning’s annual Business Meeting. He is the Director of the Division of Mohs Surgery and Cutaneous Oncology and Professor of Dermatology and Oncology at the University of Rochester’s School of Medicine in Rochester, New York. An active ASDS member since residency, he previously served on the Boards of Directors and has participated in numerous work groups, leading both the Audit Committee and Educational Exchange Work Group as Chair. Dr. Brown has authored 65 peer-reviewed publications.

“I’m passionate about making sure that ASDS members can continue to provide appropriate quality care for their patients by working with policy makers and insurance payers at the local, state and national levels. I also believe educating the public through the media is imperative to continue the message of the safe and effective surgical treatments that dermatologic surgeons provide,” said Dr. Brown.

President-Elect: Mathew M. Avram, MD, JD
Dr. Avram was elected to the office of President-Elect and will ascend to President in 2020-21. Previously, he served as Treasurer from 2015-18 and on the ASDS Board of Directors from 2011-14. Dr. Avram has also been actively involved in numerous committees and work groups for the past 10 years. He is the Director at MGH Dermatology Laser, Cosmetics and Dermatologic Surgery, as well as an Associate Professor of Dermatology at Harvard Medical School Department of Dermatology.

“We face numerous challenges in the current health care environment. My primary goal is to advocate tirelessly and effectively for the needs of dermatologic surgeons. I believe it is essential that we educate and lobby local, state and federal government; elevate the status and recognition of dermatologic surgeons among our medical colleagues and the public; protect the public from unskilled providers; provide outstanding educational opportunities at national, regional and online venues; and provide funding for cutting-edge research in dermatologic surgery to maintain our leadership in this field,” said Dr. Avram.

Vice President: Sue Ellen Cox, MD
Dr. Cox will ascend to President-Elect in 2021-22. She is the Medical Director at Aesthetic Solutions PA in Chapel Hill, North Carolina and serves as affiliate staff at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine’s Department of Dermatology and Consulting Associate at the Duke University Medical Center’s Department of Dermatology. She served as the Society’s Secretary from 2016-19; as a member of the ASDS Board of Directors from 2007-10; has chaired several ASDS work groups for the areas of education, membership and member engagement; and has been a member of nearly 30 work groups, committees and task forces.

“ASDS members have been instrumental in the creation and development of many procedures, and the Society is uniquely positioned to continue leadership in new technologies and improved patient care. The strength of ASDS is our members, the future with our younger members. We must navigate today’s challenges while we prepare tomorrow’s leaders and strengthen our efforts by encouraging member participation, providing a seat at the table and remaining open to new ideas,” said Dr. Cox.

Treasurer: Kavita Mariwalla, MD
Dr. Mariwalla assumes the role of Treasurer. The Secretary is appointed by the Board of Directors and serves a 3-year term. Dr. Mariwalla served on the ASDS / ASDSA Boards of Directors from 2015-18 and as the Resident Representative from 2007-08. She is currently Chair of the Tradeshow Work Group and has been a member of the Finance Committee since 2017.

Dr. Mariwalla has been very involved in the Society, participating in or leading several work groups; serving as a mentor in the Future Leaders Network (FLN); creating the Dermatologic Surgery Primer and Cosmeceutical Compendium; earning the Outstanding Service Award in 2012; and President’s Awards in 2009, 2018 and 2019.

Board Member: M. Laurin Council, MD
Dr. Council is an Associate Professor of Dermatology at Washington University in Saint Louis, Missouri and an active member of ASDS / ASDSA since her residency in 2007. She is currently Chair of the Journal Work Group; Co-chair of the Federal Affairs Work Group; Delegate ASDSA Representative to AMA; and Assistant Editor of the Society’s journal, Dermatologic Surgery.

“The practice of medicine is ever changing, and members of ASDS look to the organization to navigate the evolving healthcare system. Increasing regulations ultimately affect our ability to deliver cost-effective care. I will work tirelessly to advocate for dermatologic surgeons at the local, state and national levels.”

Board Member: Ian A. Maher, MD
Dr. Maher is the Director of Dermatologic Surgery and Associate Professor of Dermatology at the University of Minnesota. He created the Sun Safe Soccer Program while participating in FLN, which educates consumers on sun safety when UV exposure is unavoidable. He is Co-chair of the Patient Education Work Group; Co-chair of the Policy Priorities Work Group; Assistant Editor and Ad Hoc Reviewer of Dermatologic Surgery; Preceptor for the ASDS Resident Preceptorship Program; and ASDSA Representative to the National Coalition for Skin Cancer Prevention.

“As a member of the Board of Directors, I will continue to advocate for projects that strategically position us within the medical and regulatory communities and protect our ability to deliver the right care for our patients. I will help find new and innovative ways to deliver educational content in an impactful and convenient way.”

Board Member: Anthony M. Rossi, MD
Dr. Rossi is an Assistant Attending-Dermatology Service at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York and Assistant Professor of Dermatology at Weill Cornell Medicine/New York Presbyterian. He serves as a mentor in the Society’s Future Leaders Network (FLN) and chair and/or member of numerous ASDS and ASDSA work groups. He serves as a Delegate ASDSA Representative to the American Medical Association (AMA) and is passionate about advocating for and advancing the field of dermatologic surgery.

“It will be key for us to strengthen the organization and our membership by providing members with more web-based content; advocating for all types of dermatologic surgeons and their practices; and advancing ASDS as an organization and authority in dermatologic surgery through collaboration and expanded scope of education.”

Resident Representative: Katherine Ligtenberg, MD, PhD, MBA
The Resident Representative to the ASDS and ASDSA Boards of Directors holds a two-year term providing input and guidance to the Society and Association in their efforts to expand outreach and services to dermatology residents.

Dr. Ligtenberg is a Chief Resident in dermatology at Yale. She previously completed her Bachelor of Arts, Doctor of Medicine, Doctor of Philosophy, Master of Business Administration and medical internship at the University of Chicago. She is passionate about improving health care and its delivery, and her interests lie at the interface of cutaneous oncology, procedural dermatology and data analytics.

[Source(s): American Society for Dermatologic Surgery, PR Newswire]